the little things: four little words (cara strickland).

 

 

It’s a joy to invite you to read Cara’s words today – not just because her very cool name means “friend” or “dear one,” but simply because she’s the real writer deal.  Cara and I just met earlier this year, but became immediate CHAMPIONS of each other, and let’s be honest, we all need that in our lives!  Enjoy this new, dear friend of mine.  Enjoy, indeed. 

sand

My college boyfriend and I drove down to the lake that night, as we often did. He was a little unsure of a lot of things, so I never knew whether we were going to kiss or debate the existence of Hell. He turned off his car and looked at me, hesitating just a moment. “There’s something I’ve been meaning to talk to you about,” he said.

I waited, silently, as I usually did in those days.

“I’ve noticed that women who have a belly don’t really seem to take very good care of themselves,” he said.

It took me a moment to register the words. As soon as I did, I was confused. What does this have to do with me?

“You have a belly,” he said, answering my unspoken question.

He went on to suggest that I consider cutting back on the chicken strips I sometimes chose for lunch (the ones I dipped first in catsup, then mustard, making the meal feel like a treat), he told me the name of a website which streamed yoga for free, and reminded me that I could access the gym for free.

I am not usually quick with a response, especially when surprised. In hindsight, I should have broken up with him then and there, with a few well-chosen words about shame.

But I didn’t.

Instead, I went from a college student with a healthy view of her body, a former ballet dancer and martial artist, to someone who peered critically in mirrors. I started to watch other girls in class to see if their stomachs were prominent, I stopped eating in front of my boyfriend at all.

When we watched movies together in his apartment, I sat up straight and sucked in my stomach, never allowing myself to relax.

Graduation came quickly, as did the end of my relationship with that boyfriend after we found that long distance didn’t work any better than when we were close at hand. The relationship ended, but the shame did not.

Back at home, I woke up early and did yoga before work, even though it left me exhausted. Every evening, I took a long walk, not to enjoy the sunsets (which are gorgeous on the bluff near my house) but to burn off whatever calories I’d ingested during dinner. I would look down at my tummy in the mornings approvingly, seeing it empty and flat, only to fill as the day went on.

It was only much later that I started to talk about this experience out loud. It was amazingly easy for me to hide my unhealthy attitude toward my body. No one questioned why I was ordering a salad (even when halibut was on the menu).

When I spoke about it for the first time, I was surprised at the way the shame poured over me. I could barely get the words out. Somehow, I did. “You have a belly.”

Thankfully, I was in the presence of someone who loved me and was willing to tell me the truth. “Of course you have a belly,” she said. “Your belly allows you to process the food you eat, giving you strength, and keeping you sustained. Even the flattest stomachs are visible.” The weight of years started to crumble from my shoulders.

My struggles with food and image didn’t magically go away after that. I still get into unhealthy cycles, of one kind or another, where I fail to treat my body with the care and respect I aspire to.

Now, perhaps because God has a sense of humor, I work as a food writer and find myself often eating for a living, taking small bites that taste like healing. Day by day, I’m making choices based, not on hiding my body, in all her beauty and function, but in celebrating the ingenuity and brilliance of the ways she works, resilient and whole.

cara profileWhen you first meet Cara, you might think that she’s quiet or reserved. She’s still learning how to relax her fingers, gripping tightly to how it should look and how she should be. She’d love to have a cup of tea or a glass of wine with you, to gradually pull out a few of her broken pieces, matching them up with yours and watching them sparkle in the light.  She writes about faith and life (and occasionally food) at Little Did She Know. You can also connect with her on Twitter and Facebook.

What about you?  What pieces of Cara’s story, of those four words spoken, reached your heart, too?  Leave a comment, and cheer our friend on today!

19 thoughts on “the little things: four little words (cara strickland).

  1. Cara (Strickland, not Meredith), as a father of a young adult woman, let me tell you that if I could I’d go punch that ex-boyfriend of yours in the nose – no, I think not … I think I’d punch him in the belly. I am so glad you found that wise counsel. These are words everyone should heed – “Of course you have a belly.”

    Cara (Meredith, not Strickland), thank you for sharing your space today. This is an excellent addition to the series on nothing being small.

    Cheers (to both Caras),
    Tim

    1. Thank you for the sentiment, Tim. It is one shared by my mother.
      I agree. So important to hear that your body is intentional. I’m thankful for that, even on days when it’s hard to remember.

  2. Don’t you wonder where that boyfriend is now? And what kind of belly he’s sporting? My father is the one who would say things like that to me. I know he meant well; I know he didn’t mean to hurt my feelings. He is my grandmother’s son so I can see where the words came from. And being divorced he didn’t have my mother to counsel him on how to treat his daughter as she struggled through puberty. Great post!

    1. Actually, my friends (and mother) always made that comment. I was in better shape than he was. Clearly a double standard.
      I’m so sorry that your father said those things to you. So hurtful, even when you’ve made peace with it.
      Grace to you, Andrea, and thank you!

  3. Cara, I’m so glad to you had someone in your life to speak truth and life back into your heart and your body… This essay really hit home with me as I’m trying to be patient with my own belly and give it time to get back to its old self after being stretched out in the service of creating a new life! (Easier to do when I’m rocking a sweet baby to sleep than when I’m trying to get dressed in the morning.)

    1. Me too, Sarah. It’s so easy to be hard on myself.
      Just tonight, I found myself surveying my thighs without joy while trying on jeans. It’s a rhythm, and a learned thing.
      What a lovely journey you are on. I hope that you will find lots of grace for your body, not just as an emissary of human life, but also as a place where the Spirit makes a home.
      xoxo.

  4. Cara Strickland, that is crazy talk from your ex-boyfriend. Like seriously stupid stuff.

    I let people speak to me like that for YEARS while always “turning the other cheek,” and if there’s one thing I’ve learned in my 30s it’s that turning the other cheek doesn’t mean silencing our voices and letting people make us feel small. You embrace you, girl.

    Plus, take it from this super petite woman who STILL somehow gets mistaken for being pregnant from time to time (it’s my love of clothing that could very well be maternity wear) … there are benefits to having a belly when it means being offered a seat on a crowded train. 😉

    1. Oh Kim,
      There is just nothing more powerful than the truth which sets us free, is there?
      I’m working on embracing me. Thanks so much for all of your encouragement to do that!

      Pretty tunics. I get it 🙂
      Love love love you, friend.

  5. Thank you for your bravery and authenticity in telling this story. I hope I’ll be able to remember it next time I’m staring critically in the mirror.

    1. Thank you, Marilyn, for reading and letting this soak into you. I do hope that you will walk this path of being loving to our bodies along with me. So glad this resonated with you.

  6. Dear Cara (Stricklund)…my heart aches for that shame you’ve carried. I know Shame. I know him well. I spent a couple decades of life imprisoned by him. And he still lurks in dark corners and unexpected moments, eager to whisper lies like the one your heartless boyfriend once spoke to you. Only through a persistent, faithful God and a miracle of a book entitled “Shame and Grace” (by Lewis Smedes) have I come out of Shame’s dungeon and learned, every so slowly, that who I am is enough. Who I am is beautiful and broken, imperfect and yet wholly loved. And, yes, one thing I’ve learned the hard way is this: Fear and Shame live wild and free in the dark. When we hide what we fear to be true about ourselves, we are only allowing those untruths to grow big and strong. When we bring them out into the light, into the love of a true Father and the love of true friends, suddenly their power over us begins to weaken. So thankful you found the courage to speak your shame out loud and discover that it was never your shame to carry. Grace to you, Friend, as you continue to discover your true beauty, inside and out, and bask in the beautiful hope of being fearfully and wonderfully made by the God of the universe.

    1. Courtney,
      I always love your comments. I’m going to put that book on my list and read it 🙂
      I’m reveling in the liberation of knowing that God made me enough, belly and all.
      And yes, I’m learning about dancing in the light as well. So good and hard.
      Glad that you found something to connect with, here.
      xoxo.

I love hearing from you - leave a comment here!