Thankful Thursdays: a nice little old lady.

Dear stranger in Home Goods this afternoon,

You are nice.
You are kind.
You said all the right things, and your crinkly eyes smiled, so I knew you were being honest.
You said that my face looked great, even when I think there’s an extra chunk of neck in the way.
You said I was perfectly glowing – and I think that makes me glow from the inside out even more!
You asked me when I was due, and didn’t even flinch when I slightly freaked out at realizing that the due date is exactly three months from today.
You didn’t try to make more conversation than was necessary, but you were just plain nice.

So, thank you, nice little old lady. I will try and remember to do the same upon seeing a stranger standing by themselves, because that person probably doesn’t even realize that she needs the encouragement. So, thank you again, and you keep saying those exact same things.

Love, me.

a punk, a pumpkin and a peanut

3 thoughts on “Thankful Thursdays: a nice little old lady.

  1. i love that. it’s amazing the difference some kind words can make, isn’t it? love that you encountered that sweet lady. you look amazing, by the way 🙂 can’t wait to meet that little peanut.

  2. love that you encountered that sweet lady. it’s amazing the difference a few kind words can make. you look amazing, by the way. can’t wait to meet your little peanut!

I love hearing from you - leave a comment here!